Going Cocoa Bananas

photo 1 (14)

I honestly can’t get enough chocolate in my life.  I sometimes think it’s a goal in my life to figure out how I can incorporate chocolate into every meal I eat.  There are definitely multiple restaurants out there that have become successful at this concept which I really need to go to. I’lll add that one to the food bucket list…

photo 4 (12)

I’m really trying to clean out my pantry because I will be in Phoenix, AZ all next week- Hallelujah for warm weather! Anyways, breakfast food is hard to come by when cleaning everything out, but I managed to find all the way back in my cupboard some quick oats.  I bet you can’t guess what I decided to make for breakfast with this……….kidding, obviously I made myself some OATMEAL!

photo 3 (13)

With the lack of other ingredients I had, I managed to scrounge up enough to make a delicious Chocolate Banana Oatmeal.  I freeze bananas every once in a while and was able to thaw one of those to use, utilize my leftover milk from a recipe earlier in the week, and of course I had to use some unsweetened cocoa powder cause that stuff can make any recipe delicious.  Add some vanilla, sweetener, and salt to that combo and you have yourself one helluva easy, chocolaty, homemade oatmeal. Oh and did I mention it’s one serving too!? Great for those cooking for one, but recipe can always be multiplied for more! Check out the recipe below:

photo 2 (11)

Chocolate Banana Oatmeal: [1 serving]

  • 1/2 Cup Quick Oats
  • 3/4 Cup Skim Milk
  • 1 Ripened Banana
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1/8 Tsp. Salt
  • 1/4 Tsp. Vanilla
  • 1 Packet Truvia
  • Extra milk to serve

Directions:

Mix together all ingredients in a sauce pan over medium-high heat.  Cook, continuously stirring, for about 5-6 minutes or until mixture becomes thick and ready to serve.  Pour into a bowl and top with extra milk if desired.

Adapted from: Chocolate Covered Katie

Have a sweet day!

-Kelcie

Leave a Reply

