Mexi-Can I?

photo (1)

What is it that makes Mexican food so addicting, or rather, what is it that makes Chipotle so addicting??? Easy- control of what goes into your meal, variety of choices, speed and convenience, and not to mention the amazing food that you get when you go there.  Chipotle is one of those places where when I get a meal from there, I really go all out; chips, guac, burrito bowl, hot sauce, and an ice cold D Coke.

Almost every Thursday at home, my mom makes a Mexican type meal for her and my dad.  One of my favorite ideas of hers is when she puts a bunch of Mexican style ingredients out and lets us build our own burrito bowls.  It’s like having your own version of Chipotle at home without the weird music and stainless steel/plywood chairs & tables. Clever idea, right?? It’s definitely cheaper per person to make at home and control is all yours when it comes to what goes into your burrito bowl.

photo 2 (11)

Since I’ve been craving Mexican food lately and checking what ingredients I had around the house, I decided to make my version of homemade Chipotle burrito bowls.  When I am at Chipotle, I usually get a vegetarian bowl with rice, black beans, salsas, sour cream, lettuce, and cheese.  I figured out which of these toppings I could make at home/put my own twist on and my bowl came together as a healthier, smaller version of what I normally get at Chipotle.

The cool thing with homemade burrito bowls is that you can make or add any ingredients that your heart may desire.  Here are some other options you could add to your bowls:

  • Protein: Chicken, Steak, Tofu, Other Beans
  • Grains: White rice, brown rice, grains mix
  • Toppings: Different Salsas, Guacamole, Lettuce, Cheese (shredded or queso), hot sauce

Check out the recipes below that I used to make my Homemade Chipotle Burrito Bowls:

photo 4 (7)

Cilantro Lime Quinoa:

  • ½ cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 lime
  • ¼ Cup Cilantro, chopped [or desired amount]

Directions:

Place ½ cup quinoa and 1 cup water in a sauce pan.  Turn heat to high and bring to a boil.  Once boiling, turn heat to low and cover until quinoa has soaked up all of the water (about 15 mins)

Fluff quinoa with a fork.  Squeeze in the juice of one lime and mix in the chopped cilantro.


photo 1 (11)

Copycat Chipotle Corn Salsa:

  • 1 12-ounce bag of frozen sweet yellow corn, defrosted and drained
  • 2 medium-sized jalapenos, seeded and chopped
  • 1/3 cup red onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • Juice of 2 limes
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper

Directions:

Drain corn once thawed.  Mix together all of the ingredients & serve.

Adapted from: How Sweet Eats


photo 5 (2)

Chipotle Style Black Beans: [7 servings]

  • 2 Cans Black Beans
  • 1 Tsp. Chili Powder
  • ½ Tsp. Cumin
  • 1 Garlic Clove, Minced
  • ½ Tsp. Salt
  • ¼ Tsp. Sugar

Directions:

Pour the full can of beans and drained beans into a small saucepan.  Add to the beans each of the other ingredients.  Heat over medium until hot.

Adapted from: Savings Lifestyle

Have a sweet day!

-Kelcie

Leave a Reply

