Great Eggspectations

photo 1 (10)

Eggs– the go-to, cheap and easy ingredient that can be made into something beautiful- like a frittata, quiche, omelet, OR baked eggs like I decided to make this week. Making baked eggs is just a fancier way to cook regular old eggs- you figure out ingredients to mix with the eggs, put them in a baking dish, and wait until the egg whites sit.  You don’t have to be Bobby Flay to cook this dish.

photo 3 (7)

I really like like to cook eggs for meals because they are easy for 1 serving dishes.  I’m all about the one serving dishes…mostly because I don’t enjoy eating leftovers and I also really only cook for myself.  If I haven’t mentioned before, I also have portion control problem- so the less servings I make, the better off I am.

photo 4 (6)

Back to this week’s dish- I made Baked Ricotta Eggs.  Doesn’t sound appealing yet? Well I first mixed together the ricotta with garlic, olive oil, lemon zest, parsley, & power greens (kale, spinach, and swiss chard).  After placing that mixture in a ramekin, I nuzzled on top two eggs and drizzled with a little olive oil.  After they baked I sprinkled with salt and pepper and dunked strips of toast into the egg and ricotta mixture.  The way I know this was good is because I did not feel the need to even put one ounce of hot sauce on my eggs- that literally never happens.

photo 5 (1)

Check out this easy recipe to satisfy your eggspectations:

photo 2 (10)

Baked Ricotta Eggs: [1 serving]

  • 1 tablespoons olive oil (+ more for greasing, drizzling)
  • 1/4 cup ricotta
  • 1 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1/4 cup chopped raw spinach, kale, or a mix of both
  • 1/2 teaspoon chopped parsley
  • 2 eggs
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1-2 pieces of toast, cut into slices for serving

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix first six ingredients in a small mixing bowl and place mixture into a greased ramekin or baking dish.

Carefully, crack in two eggs into the dish, pushing aside ingredients to make room. Then drizzle with olive oil, and season with sea salt and freshly ground pepper.

Bake for 15 minutes or until whites have set, but yokes are still soft (check every so often… all depends on the size of the ramekin being used).  Serve immediately with toast.

Adapted from: Camille Styles

Have a sweet day!

-Kelcie

Leave a Reply

