The Souper Bowl of Spice

photo 5 (6)

Deciding to make soup this week was such a great idea… until I realized that it was going to be a high of 80 degrees each day. The soup still happened and I just pretended while I was making it and eating it that it was a cool, fall, perfect day outside for a nice big bowl of hot soup.

photo 1 (12)

Butternut squash soup is all the hype these days on the Internet. Seeing as though I have never made it myself before, I thought I’d give it a try. I tried to find an easy recipe that used most ingredients that I already had in the kitchen. I really wish I would have found this AMAZING looking Smoked Gruyere Butternut Squash Soup before today…but I was too late. Luckily there are plenty of cold Ohio days ahead that I can find time to make this version.

photo 3 (11)

The recipe that I decided to use for my butternut squash soup fit all three of my criteria:

  1. Easy √
  2. Not a lot of ingredients to buy √
  3. Somewhat creamy (I like soups with cream in them… healthy, I know) √

The soup turned out to be really good. It has a good amount of spice, its not too thick, and it also was pretty simple to make.

Check out the recipe below for this fun fall soup:

photo 4 (11)

Spiced Butternut Squash Soup: [4 Servings]

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 (2 pound) butternut squash – peeled, seeded, and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 cup half-and-half
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • Chopped cilantro for topping
  • Sour cream to taste, optional

Directions:

Melt butter in a large pot over medium heat. Cook and stir onion and garlic until softened and browned.

Stir chicken broth, squash, curry powder, salt, cumin, and cayenne pepper into onion mixture. Bring mixture to a boil, reduce heat to low, and simmer and cover until squash is tender, about 15 minutes. Remove from heat. Stir half-and-half and honey into squash mixture.

Pour squash mixture into a blender no more than half full. Puree in batches until smooth.

Ladle soup into serving bowls and top with chopped cilantro and sour cream.

Adapted from: All Recipes <– Props to her for the recipe

Look out for more souper recipes in the future.

Have a sweet day!

-Kelcie

Leave a Reply

