Taste & Tell- Chicago Style

This weekend I took a trip to visit some of my closest friends in Chicago. It was an ideal trip for me considering it consisted a lot of eating, drinking, and spending time with friends- couldn’t have asked for a better three days there. Chicago is such a cool city and it has AMAZING food. With an abundance of trendy little restaurants all over the place, I really had to refrain myself from trying every place in site.

My friends were really good at taking me to some of their favorite new places since they’ve moved there, and I’ve laid out some of my favorite from the weekend for you below:

  • Best Drink: Sofie Beer
  • Best Chicago Food Staple: Chicago Style Hot Dog
  • Best Brunch Dish: Humboldt Hash
  • Best Restaurant Atmosphere: Summer House Santa Monica
  • Best Dessert: Chocolate Peanut Butter Milkshake

Best Drink: Sofie Beer

From: Goose Island Beer Garden

Located: Wrigleyville

photo 4 (8)photo 3 (10)

Why: This beer is hands down my favorite beer of all time. I was so excited when we ran into the Goose Island Beer Garden and I was able to have Sofie from where it’s created. This is a Saison/ Farmhouse ale and the best way I can describe it is a citrus-y beer that has somewhat of a champagne taste to it. It can be found at random grocery stores and sometimes on menus at restaurants so if you do come across it- I highly recommend you give it a try.


Best Chicago Food Staple: Chicago Style Hot Dog

From: The Weiner Circle

Located: Lincoln Park

photo 4 (10)photo 1 (10)

Why: When you’re in Chicago, you have to try some of the Chicago staples: Deep dish, hot dogs, Italian beef sandwich, etc. I have had the famous Portillos the previous time I was in Chicago, but this time I tried somewhere different… and with a more lively atmosphere. At The Weiner Circle, you can get the Chicago style hot dog with all of the toppings- mustard, relish, pickles, onions, tomatoes, celery salt, and sport peppers. That hot dog may sound overwhelming, but add in the late night crowd and verbal abuse amongst customer’s and workers and your experience will be one for the books.


Best Brunch Dish: Humboldt Hash

From: HASH Chicago

Located: Wicker Park

photo 3 (9)photo 4 (9)

Why: At a place called HASH, I felt it would only be necessary to order one of their signature hash dishes. This is a really tiny, neat place on the border of Wicker Park, Ukranian Village, and Humboldt Park with a chalkboard full of mouthwatering brunch menu items. My cousin’s wife recommended to me the Humboldt hash and after seeing on the menu that it contains eggs, black beans, chorizo, hominy, tomatoes, and Chihuahua cheese served with this bomb salsa Verde, I knew it was fate. Hands down, greatest way to end my trip in Chicago.


Best Restaurant Atmosphere: Summer House Santa Monica

Located: Lincoln Park

photo 1 (9)photo 1 (8)

Why: Number one, this place is in Lincoln Park, which I think is one of the coolest neighborhoods in Chicago. Looking past that, when you walk into this restaurant, you literally feel like you just stepped into a beach house in Chicago. Wait- taking a step back, when you walk in there is this amazing showcase of massive pastries that you can purchase… If only I was greeted like that everywhere I went. The lighting, atmosphere, decorations, servers, and menu make this place a must-stop for brunch, lunch, dinner, or even drinks.


Best Dessert: Chocolate Peanut Butter Milkshake

From: Oberweis

Located: Lakeviewphoto 2 (8)

Why: Because- who doesn’t like a large milkshake made from creamy, rich, chocolate ice cream and served in their signature milkshake glass topped with whipped cream and a cherry?! Oberweis has a neat, old fashioned feel to their store and the way they serve their milkshakes make them taste that much better. Great way to top off any night in Chicago.

If you get the chance- check out some of these great places if ever in Chicago!

Have a sweet day!

-Kelcie

One thought on “Taste & Tell- Chicago Style

Leave a Reply

