It’s All Lentil From Here

photo 1 (9)

I had never shopped at Trader Joes until this past Monday.  I really hate myself for it now because I feel like for the past years that I have been doing my own grocery shopping, I have missed out on the amazingness that Trader Joe’s has to offer. Whatever- now it’s all the rage in my life and I will be frequenting there more often- and it isn’t expensive like I assumed.  You know what they say about assuming…..

photo 4 (2)

Well, Trader Joe’s had this great sample station when I went there. I am not one to ever pass up a sample or conversation with the sample giver-outer, so naturally, I tried what they had to offer and I loved it!!! They were sampling this great lentil, feta, and bruschetta cold salad.  Didn’t take much peer pressure for me to give in and buy all of the ingredients myself.  This is a cheap, easy meal that only contains three ingredients and no effort whatsoever.

photo 3 (6)

I thought I would share the recipe just in case anyone is ever at Trader Joe’s and needs an easy side dish, appetizer, something to snack on with crackers or chips, or something extra to put in a lunch.  I also thought it was one of those things that would be easy to put your own spin on.  Some variations could be:

Sweet pepper bruschetta, goat cheese, and lentils

Pear, blue cheese, and lentil salad

Or even warm lentil recipes like curried lentils or lentils with squash or sweet potatoes

As you can see- lentils can be very versatile, which is great because they are really good for you with their high levels of fiber, iron, and protein.  Check out this easy recipe below…

photo 2 (9)

Trader Joe’s Lentil Salad:

  • 1 Package of Pre-Cooked Trader Joe’s Lentils (refrigerated)
  • ½ Jar Trader Joe’s Bruschetta
  • 1-6oz. Package of Crumbled Feta Cheese
  • Optional-Crackers/Chips to serve with

Mix all together & serve.  If serving warm, heat up lentils separately beforehand.

Adapted From: Trader Joe’s

Have a sweet day!

-Kelcie

One thought on “It’s All Lentil From Here

Leave a Reply

