Easy Peasy Lemon & Cheese-y

photo 2 (7)

This week I am going to be traveling a decent amount.  That being said, I decided not to buy a lot of groceries to make dinners.  I already had noodles on hand so I thought it would be a good idea for one of the nights I was home to make a simple pasta.. because, why not start the week off with some pasta?!

photo 4 (7)

Cooking for one, usually the easiest thing to do when it comes to pasta is to buy a jar of sauce and noodles and voila- dinner is served.  I tried to steer away from that this week so I looked up a couple different recipes that were 1. vegetarian 2. didn’t use a lot of ingredients and 3. we’re quick and easy.  I can really get lost in food blogs trying to find the right one to make.  I spend a lot of time looking, then I debate which one I’m actually going to make, then I change my mind 3x before I go to the grocery.  This is a reoccurring cycle that happens with each recipe idea I have.

photo 3 (8)

So finally, I decided on a Goat Cheese Lemon Pasta with Spinach.  It’s an easy, peasy, lemony, and cheesy pasta that is so quick to make.  I really love cheese, probably too much, and goat cheese is definitely in the top 5 kinds.  In this recipe, the goat cheese and lemon juice mix together to make a really simple and tasty sauce that goats the pasta. The garlic, shallots, and spinach combination add to the pasta to spruce it up and there is a hint of crushed red pepper and lemon zest that add a nice touch of flavor.  Check out this recipe below.. ( and my really horrible iPhone 4 quality photo)

photo 1 (7)

Goat Cheese Lemon Pasta with Spinach: [~2 servings]

  • About 2 cups uncooked pasta (penne, fusilli, any kind)
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 shallot, diced
  • 3-4 cups spinach, chopped (or preference)
  • Pinch of red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 lemon- zest and juice
  • ~3 oz. goat cheese
  • Pepper & more red pepper flakes to taste

Directions:

Bring a pot of water to boil on high.  Salt the water and cook noodles until done.

In a skillet over medium-high heat, saute the garlic and shallots in the olive oil for about 3-4 minutes until cooked.  Sprinkle in some red pepper flakes and stir.  Turn heat down to medium and in the spinach, lemon, and lemon zest and cook until spinach is wilted.

Drain the pasta once done and add back into the pot.  Add in the cooked ingredients from the saute pan to your pot.  Stir in your goat cheese until well mixed.  Season with some black pepper (goat cheese is pretty salty so don’t add too much/if any) and top with any extra crushed red peppers.

Serve immediately.

Adapted from: Two Peas & Their Pod

With this recipe (like all that I post), there can be substitutes and additions made. Kale can be substituted for spinach, any type of noodle can be used, more/less crushed red pepper is personal preference, and serving size can be doubled for more than 2 servings.

Have a sweet day!

-Kelcie

Leave a Reply

