Veggin’ out

photo 1 (5)

Originally for this week I had planned to make wraps for my Thursday night dinner.  This all changed when I was reading the label on these Flatout flatbreads I bought to use as wraps.  The versatility of this one item amazes me- I was coming up with so many great ideas that I could make with these.. considering they come in a pack of six and I am often cooking for a total of one.  That was an exception this week though because I made these for my two roommates also.  Okay, so on the bag that these flatbreads come in, it says something about making pizza with these.  Lightbulb! Instead of making roasted vegetable and hummus wraps for the week I decided to create a great and easy recipe: Roasted vegetable and Hummus Flatbreads.

photo 3 (3)

I had never roasted vegetables before… I really am an amateur.  So I decided to marinate them for about twenty minutes in an olive oil mixture.  I read on a couple recipes to roast at 450 degrees and put in for about 20-30 minutes.  Worked out great for me! If I had a grill I totally would have grilled these veggies- but apartment living on a budget calls for making substitutes.  When I picked my veggies at the groceries, I got mushrooms because those are a staple in my cooked vegetable diet, peppers because those are cheap and easy, red onion because I did somewhat of a Greek flare to these, and zucchini because they are almost out of season and I want to eat them as much as I can before they are gone.

photo 2 (6)

For the toppings, I had hummus on hand from this week’s snack (pretzel crisps and hummus- addicting), and just bought some feta cheese and parsley.  Tell me that isn’t so easy.  I of course added on top some sriracha also because having that extra spice to it makes me extra happy.  This recipe was really simple and easy and these flatbreads are something you can take and make your own combination of ingredients with.  Check out the recipe for my Roasted Vegetable and Hummus Flatbreads:

photo 4 (2)

Roasted Vegetable & Hummus Flatbreads:

  • 1 Medium zucchini, cut up into chunks
  • 1 Red pepper, cut into smaller slices
  • 1/2 Red onion, cut into thick slices
  • 1 small package of mushrooms, sliced to preferred thickness
  • 1/2 cup olive oil, plus more for brushing flatbreads
  • 1/4 cup white wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp. Dijon mustard
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 3 Flatout Flatbreads (whichever flavor)
  • Feta cheese
  • Hummus
  • Parsley, chopped
  • Hot Sauce optional

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Mix together ingredients for marinade and place in a large bowl. Chop up vegetables and place in bowl- sit for about 20-30 mins.

Once oven is ready, place in a lined dish (I used foil) with only a little big of the marinade.  I threw the rest out just because I didn’t want my veggies to get soggy.  Cook for about 20-25 minutes stirring every once in a while.

Once done, take out of the oven and cover with foil to keep in heat.  Turn oven down to 350 degrees.

Lightly brush each side of your flatbreads with oil.  One the oven has gone down in temp., place directly on the racks in the oven for 6-7 minutes.

Once those are crispy, take them out of the oven and start preparing your flatbreads.  Spread on hummus, top with veggies, sprinkle with feta, and top off with some parsley.  Repeat this for each flatbread using as many of each ingredient as you would like.  (I also added some hot sauce to mine- great touch.)

**With this recipe you can switch up the different kinds of veggies used, you could use a goat cheese spread or different spread than hummus, you can also add on more Greek options like sun dried tomatoes, artichokes, or olives. There are many combinations you could make with these- why not try some out yourself!

Have a sweet day!

-Kelcie

One thought on “Veggin’ out

Leave a Reply

