Oatrageously Chocolaty

imageNo, I did not spell outrageously wrong on accident- it’s that way because today I’m going to tell you about my new favorite breakfast: overnight oats. This concept is like the newer and cooler version of oatmeal. What are overnight oats you may be asking yourself.  Well, it’s this great combination of oats, liquid (milk or yogurt..or both), and any other ingredient your heart may desire all mixed together and put in the fridge all night (hence the name).  By the time morning rolls around, the oats become softened and have soaked up some of that liquid and all you have to do is eat!

image

I’m all about simple and quick breakfasts that I can also take to work. These fit that to a T, and they are also extremely versatile. I made three different versions this week all using about the same ratio. My basic recipe for these uses 1/2 cup old fashioned oats, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup yogurt, and 1 tbsp. chia seeds. Above is what this combination looks like before it sits overnight…. I swear it’s actually good.

image

I made three different versions of these oats for the week: blueberry, peach, and chocolate strawberry. For the peach and blueberry, I added in cinnamon and maple syrup to sweeten it up. I chose to use vanilla yogurt and unsweetened almond milk making it a good, healthy combination overall.

image

My favorite of all three combinations I made this week was the strawberry chocolate overnight oats. Check you the recipe below…

imageChocolate Strawberry Overnight Oats: [1 serving]

  • 1/2 Cup Old Fashioned Oats
  • 1/2 Cup Almond Milk
  • 1/2 Cup Vanilla Yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp. Chia Seeds
  • 1 Tbsp. Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • Squeeze of Honey & Splash of Vanilla
  • 1/2 Cup Chopped Strawberries

Mix all ingredients except strawberries together in a jar, bowl, or Tupperware. Cover and put in fridge overnight. In the morning, stir oats and top with chopped strawberries.

This was a great way to start my morning- try out this recipe or make your own combo for a great breakfast.

Have a sweet day!

-Kelcie

 

Leave a Reply

