It’s Easy Being Green

photo 1 (3)

And no, I don’t mean “green” as in save the planet.  I’m talkin’ bout green smoothies. This week in Columbus the weather has been in the upper 80’s and has even hit 90 some days. Days like that, I want to come home and cool off.  What better way to do that then with a ice cold smoothie!?

I like all kinds of smoothies- fruity, chocolatey, vegetable-y, etc. I know that I could go get a smoothie at the nearest Robeks or Smoothie King, but why spend that much on a small smoothie when I can make my own for better and cheaper at home?

photo 2 (3)

When it comes to smoothies, I believe it’s totally worth it to add in some greens for the extra added boost of nutrition without being overpowering in flavor. Spinach is a great green to mix into smoothies.  It gives the smoothie a nice green color and and provides an abundance of vitamins and nutrients. 

When making smoothies, there are so many different ingredients and mix-ins that one can use. It’s helpful to know a good ratio before making a smoothie. When making mine, I use about 1 & 1/2 cups of fruit, 2 cups of spinach, and one cup of liquid.  If not using frozen fruit, I add about 1-2 cups of ice, depending on preference of thickness.

photo 4 (3)

Once the basic ratio is down, it is easy to add in little ingredients like sweeteners, flax or chia seeds, or even protein like almond butter.  It is also a really tasty idea to top off your smoothie with granola and eat it with a spoon- one of my favorite things to do. I made a new smoothie three different times this week because I had so many ideas and fruits I wanted to use.  Check out the recipes below…

Peachberry, and Spinach Smoothie:

photo 1 (3)

  • 1 Peach, Peeled & Chopped
  • 1/2 Cup Blueberries
  • 2 Cups Spinach
  • 1 Cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1 1/2 Cup Ice

 

Blueberry-nanna Maple Spinach Smoothie:

photo 3 (5)

  • 1/2 Cup Blueberries
  • 1 Banana, Sliced
  • 2 Cups Spinach
  • 1 Cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1 Tbsp. Maple Almond Butter (Justin’s)
  • Splash of Vanilla
  • Pinch of Cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 Cups Ice
  • Top with Granola and Drizzle with Maple Syrup

 

Strawnanna Spinach Smoothie

photo 5 (2)

  • 1 Banana Sliced
  • 1/2 Cup Strawberries, Sliced
  • 2 Cups Spinach
  • 1 Cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1 Tbsp. Maple Almond Butter (Justin’s)
  • Squeeze of Honey
  • Pinch of Cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 Cups Ice
  • Top with Granola    

Feel free to switch up the almond milk for yogurt, water, coconut water, or any other liquid of choice.  I also used fresh fruit, but frozen fruit can be just as good for smoothies.  Try ’em out or make your own combo and of course…go green!

Have a sweet day!

-Kelcie

 

One thought on “It’s Easy Being Green

Leave a Reply

