Get Curried Away

photo 2 (2)

I love ethnic food.  I have also been craving indian takeout since I arrived in Columbus.  Have I gotten it yet???? NO.  Don’t ask me why, I really have no explanation to this.  There are just so many other great restaurants in the area that I seem to forget about the idea when it comes down to making a decision of where/what to eat.

photo 5 (1)

Now, since I haven’t eaten any curry dishes in the area lately, I decided to make an easy one of my own at home.  I had some quinoa left over so when I saw that Canuck Cuisine had an easy recipe that utilizes budget friendly ingredients, I had to try it.  This recipe satisfies my curry cravings but in a healthier and homemade way.

photo 3 (4)

The ingredients in this dish pair really well together.  The mix of sweet with the dressing and raisins along with the curry makes for a delicious dish.  I’m using this recipe for my lunch for two days this week.  This could also be eaten (cold or warm) as a side or even with chicken or tofu mixed in.

photo 4 (1)

Sweet & Spiced Curry:  [2-3 servings]

  • 1/2 Cup Uncooked Quinoa
  • 1 Cup Water
  • 1/4 Chopped Bell Pepper
  • 1/4 Chopped White Onion
  • 1 Celery Stalk
  • 1/2 Cup Chickpeas, Drained
  • 1/4 Cup Raisins
  • 1 Tbsp. White Wine Vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp. Agave, Maple Syrup, or Honey
  • 1 to 2 tbsp. Curry Powder (1 for less spicy,  1 & 1/2 to 2 for more)
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp. Turmeric (1/2 for less spicy, 1 for more)
  • Salt to taste

Directions:

Cook the quinoa according to directions on the box- usually you bring the water and quinoa to boil, then turn off the stove and cover for about 15 minutes or until water has been soaked up.

Saute the pepper, onion, and celery in a medium saute pan with oil (over medium to medium high) until translucent.  Remove from heat when done and put in bowl.  Add to bowl the chickpeas and raisins.

In a separate bowl, mix together the vinegar, choice of sweetener, and spices.

Once quinoa is done, add to bowl and top with preferred amount of dressing and mix. 

**Best if not eating immediately so that you can have it sit in the fridge covered overnight and let the flavors sit.

Adapted from: Canuck Cuisine

Curry on everyone- we’re halfway done with the week…

Have a sweet day!

-Kelcie

 

One thought on “Get Curried Away

Leave a Reply

