BBBBennie & The……

photo 4 (1)

Eggs? Nothing food-related rhymes with jets… other than kitchenette so maybe rhyming just isn’t my forte. More importantly, I just recently became a fan of the ever-popular breakfast dish, eggs benedict, after I tried an awesome version of it at First Watch.  First off, who would have known that after all these years I actually DO like egg yolks?!  Anyways, the summer special at first watch was BLT benedict on Ciabatta bread- heavenly.  After I had this, I immediately wanted to try and make this dish at home knowing that it would be a challenge…and it was.

photo 3 (1)

I can’t have eggs without hot sauce, so when I was trying to find a recipe for hollandaise sauce I used key words like “sriracha”,chipotle”, or anything that would spice it up a little.  What I found was that making a hollandaise sauce the original way is some tedious work, but there are a couple recipes out there for blender hollandaise that are a quicker and easier way to get the job done.

Not only did I have to look up a recipe for the sauce, but I also had to look up thorough directions as to how to poach an egg.  I ended up poaching my first egg as a “practice” run and my other two I actually used for the dish.  The second one came out perfectly.. probably the highlight of my day.  Below you can find the recipe for my version of an eggs benedict.

photo 2 (3)

Eggs benedict with Chipotle Hollandaise Sauce:

  • 2 Poached Eggs (use a little bit of vinegar in the water- supposedly helps to keep the egg whites together)- Alton Brown’s Directions
  • 1 English Muffin
  • Mixed Greens
  • Tomato
  • 2 Pieces of Cooked Bacon
  • Cilantro for garnish

For the Sauce: (my sauce was not as thick as I would have like.. I think it would have been better if I used the amounts of each of the ingredients below instead)

  • 3 Egg Yolks
  • 1 Tbsp Lemon Juice
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 10 Tbsp. Unsalted Butter, Melted
  • Either 1 Chipotle & 1 tsp. of Adobo Sauce or 1-3 Tbsp. Sriracha (all spiciness to personal preference)

Directions:

Assemble each of the ingredients that go on the English muffin.  I first toasted the muffins.  On top of each muffin half, I added mixed greens, 1 piece of bacon broken in half, a tomato slice, and a poached egg.

To make the sauce, combine the egg yolks, lemon juice, salt, and chipotle or sriracha in a blender.  Reduce the speed and slowly drizzle in the melted butter while the blender is running (about 30 seconds) until the color turns lighter and the sauce becomes thicker.  Pour over the eggs and sprinkle with cilantro.

Adapted from: Yes to Yolks

I think after a couple more times poaching eggs and a couple tweaks to the hollandaise sauce, I eventually will have the art of making eggs benedict perfected.

Have a sweet day!

-Kelcie

 

Leave a Reply

