Going to the Eggstreme

photo 1 (2)I don’t know about you, but I usually find any excuse to eat massive unhealthy amounts of food on the weekends.  This puts me in a really bad cycle of: Eat semi-healthy during the week, eat & drink whatever I want on the weekends, feeling of guilt and gluttony, and then it restarts on Mondays with the attempt to eat healthy.  I don’t hate it….

Well, since it’s Monday, I thought I would share one of the breakfast recipes I made for this week: Quinoa Egg Muffins.  I don’t often have eggs during the week for breakfast, only because I always eat my breakfast at work. I tried to find a good egg recipe that would keep me full all morning, but that would also be easy to heat up and eat  at work.  I ended up making a version of Slender Kitchen’s recipe which mixes quinoa, egg whites, eggs, veggies and cheese and bake them in muffin tins.photo 2 (2)

The recipe goes as follows:

  • 1 Cup Cooked Quinoa
  • 4 Egg Whites
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Cup Chopped Peppers & Mushrooms (can use any veggies)
  • 1/2 Cup Reduced Fat Feta Cheese (I think shredded cheddar would be really good, too)
  • Many dashes of Franks Red Hot
  • Salt & pepper

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and spray muffin tins (about 7-8 muffin wells) with non-stick spray.  [Her recipe called for lining and spraying pans… I would recommend opting out on the liners seeing as though some of my cupcake liners were a little difficult to peal off once the egg muffins were done]
  • Whisk together the eggs and egg whites.  Mix into that the veggies, cheese, hot sauce, and salt & pepper.
  • Pour into the muffin tins that have been sprayed with non-stick spray 
  • Bake for about 30 minutes or until top is golden colored

Adapted from Slender Kitchen

These are so easy, low in calorie, and packed with protein making them a great breakfast to have on hand during the week.

Have a sweet day!

-Kelcie

 

Leave a Reply

