Taste & Tell 8-22

If you haven’t had a chance to see it, there is a Buzzfeed article titled “24 Indisputable Reasons Columbus Has The Best Damn Food In The Land” I recommend you check out.  If that isn’t convincing enough- I have decided to show some of the dishes or drinks I’ve tried from restaurants in the Columbus area each week.  Sometimes I may even add in a copycat or similar recipe from something I’ve tried to help give ideas for cooking at home.  Check out some of these delicious eats I got to try this past week!

image (14)

In German Village is a really neat Bakery that specializes in cakes called Kittie’s Cakes.  It was my roommate’s birthday last Saturday so I picked up six of their mini cupcakes as a gift.  We tried almost all of the flavors they had made for that day: Black & White, Coconut Cream, Cookies & Cream, PB&J, S’More, & White Out.

Of course, I had to try the coconut one because I think I actually have an addiction to anything coconut.  It was AWESOME. Each of the cupcakes had such an intricate description & the flavors and fillings were out of this world.  Will definitely be picking up a cupcake or two again in the near future…

image (11)

This past weekend we weren’t only celebrating my roommates birthday.  It just so happened to be the Beer Fest & the Food Truck fest too.  So… having tons of food trucks and over 150 vendors of beer all at my fingertips was comparable to the excitement I feel on Christmas morning.

image (15)

The picture above is from one of the food trucks I stopped at during the festival- Street Thyme Food Truck.  They had a special going where you could get a 1/2 burger and fries for $5.. hard to pass up.  My roommate ordered the Apple Bacon Brie burger which was AMAZING and I chose the Cajun Flame which has “Grilled Ohio Amish tomato, fresh jalapeños and hot pepper cheese. All covered in our truck made habanero-sriracha aioli. With fresh, organic lettuce in-between a fresh baked Challah roll”- Sound enticing?  The habanero-sriracha aioli I have been having dreams about ever since.

image (16)

I recommend checking out this truck- its in the running for top food truck in the area and is definitely worth it.

Below is a picture from the other night when my family and I checked out Bakersfield in the Short North for the first time.  We started with their queso and guacamole which both hit the spot.  The queso was different from any other that I have ever tried before, but it was definitely a hit amongst all of us.image (17)

We each ordered different tacos for the entre.  I tried their corn truffle taco and also their fish taco and washed it down with an ice cold margarita.  Would definitely go back again and try some new tacos since they have such a variety.

If you’re in the area try and check some of these places out.  Look out for where I will be going this upcoming week.

Have a sweet day!

-Kelcie

 

Leave a Reply

