Pop ‘Till You Drop

image (2)

You know how in the movie Elf, Buddy has his four main food groups: candy, candy canes, candy corn, and syrup? Well, in my family, popcorn is one of our main food groups. Whether it’s a late night snack, meal replacement, or even a side to our pizza entré, popcorn always seems to be one of our go-to foods.

image (4)

At Polaris mall, they have a place called Doc popcorn which has a great selection of different popcorns- both sweet and savory. The scent of the popcorn while you’re shopping is probably one of the most distracting and mouth-watering things that one can experience. So, because my self-control is so great, I could not help but grab a bag for myself before I left.

image (3)

I am a huge fan of mixing sweet and savory to get the best of both worlds. That being said, I chose their kettle popcorn and cheddar. Someone really smart one day decided to make this combination a thing (but with caramel corn and cheddar), called it “Chicago Mix”, and started selling it for addicts like me. This got me thinking though… if they can make something like this at home, then why can’t I?

I found a great recipe for both a cheddar popcorn and caramel corn at http://www.aspicyperspective.com/2013/10/garretts-popcorn-caramel-popcorn-recipe.html. This recipe uses a realistic amount of ingredients and had some great reviews. Whether it is out as a snack at a get together with friends, snuck in your purse when at the movies movies, or even just something to have around the house for your late night cravings- this is something easy and fun to switch up your usual butter and salt on popcorn routine.

Have a sweet day!

-Kelcie

 

Leave a Reply

